Forum Visual Studio

Announcement:

The Xamarin Forums have officially moved to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Microsoft Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

To create new threads and ask questions head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET and get involved today.

Droid - Debugging - Visual Studio Is Busy

ScottParilloScottParillo USMember, University

I have been developing in Xamarin for about 4 months (VS2012/mono-android-4.8.03015) and there's some kind of bug that happens rather frequently where you're debugging, hit a breakpoint, and VS is no longer responding. The IDE process isn't dead but you will see a "Visual Studio is Busy" notification on the taskbar. It's beyond annoying because you pretty much have to kill the IDE via Task Manager.

Is Xamarin aware of this bug? Is there something I can do or kill to get around this?

• I'm seeing the same issue :(

• qwertylolmanqwertylolman USMember
    edited January 2015

updated Xamarin today and got the same issue.

Microsoft Visual Studio Ultimate 2013
    Version 12.0.31101.00 Update 4
    Microsoft .NET Framework
    Version 4.5.50938

Installed Version: Ultimate

Xamarin 3.9.236.0 (d6a2cae)
    Visual Studio extension to enable development for Xamarin.iOS and Xamarin.Android.

Xamarin.Android 4.20.0.34 (49a04b966feb40dfdba49d57ba16249b66d606a6)
    Visual Studio plugin to enable development for Xamarin.Android.

Xamarin.iOS 8.6.0.0 (eb24bdcf5cba2c12b673a07e0a8cce368b9563b3)
    Visual Studio extension to enable development for Xamarin.iOS.

Xamarin.iOS Unified Migration 1.0
    Automated migration for Xamarin iOS Classic projects to Unified

• GerryHallGerryHall USMember

I reported this issue to Xamarin support yesterday and a bugzilla issue has been added. I'd encourage you guys to maybe add to the issue in order to maybe get it prioritized for a fix. https://bugzilla.xamarin.com/show_bug.cgi?id=26025