Retrieving data from Settings.bundle (iOS Settings)

PhilippBartelsPhilippBartels Philipp BartelsUSMember

Hello I'm new to xamarin iOS developping.

I want to get the data stored in the App Settings.
I Created the settings how it was shown in this Thread http://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/1407/custom-settings-in-ios-settings-app/p1

I tried this code:
var ipadress = NSUserDefaults.StandardUserDefaults.StringForKey("Server_IP_Adress");

plist looks like this:

<dict>
            <key>AutocapitalizationType</key>
            <string>None</string>
            <key>AutocorrectionType</key>
            <string>No</string>
            <key>Server_IP_Adress</key>
            <string>1.2.3.4</string>
            <key>IsSecure</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>name_preference</string>
            <key>KeyboardType</key>
            <string>NumbersAndPunctuation</string>
            <key>Title</key>
            <string>IP-Adresse</string>
            <key>Type</key>
            <string>PSTextFieldSpecifier</string>
        </dict>

I want the Code to retrieve 1.2.3.4 or an other Value if its changed in App settings.
Can you Help me?

• BradRobinsonBradRobinson Brad Robinson AUMember ✭✭✭

Hi Philipp

You've got a couple of mistakes in your xml. The string you pass to StringForKey is the value associated with the key "Key".

<key>Key</key>
    <string>Server_IP_Adress</string>

The default value should be assigned to a key "DefaultValue"

<key>DefaultValue</key>
    <string>1.2.3.4</string>

Also, you didn't mention if the settings screen was showing up in the settings app - for that you need to make sure you've got the correct build action on the Root.plist (and that it's called Root.plist) and it's in a resource folder called "Settings.bundle".

I've attached a test program that has all of this in-place, including how to get notified when the setting changes.

• PhilippBartelsPhilippBartels Philipp Bartels USMember