Should I use WeakReference when keeping reference of a view in an activity?

laygrlaygr MXMember, University
edited October 2014 in Xamarin University

In order to avoid memory leaks, should I do something like this?
class AnActivity... WeakReference AButton ... OnCreate... aButton = new WeakReference(FindViewById(...

or it isn't necessary

• JuergenKollerJuergenKoller ✭✭ DEUniversity ✭✭

The syntax is:

Button button = FindViewById<Button>(Resource.Id.MyButton);

there is no need for 'new' in this case because it's handled by the OS. You are just referencing an item which was defined in your .axml file from the Recources/layout folder.
    I'm still learning, too and hope one of the trainer can confirm my explanation.

• laygrlaygr MXMember, University

@Juergen‌ I don't just want to get a reference to the button, but to maintain it through the whole activity lifecycle; that is why I wonder if I need to keep the reference through a weakrefenence.

• JuergenKollerJuergenKoller ✭✭ DEUniversity ✭✭

If you define it in a .axml file it's maintained by the OS.
    Not sure what you are trying to do but you can always use

to come back to the same button. For example you could change the label from the button in your OnCreate method to 'test'.
    If you now use

in you OnResume method it will show you 'test' for button.Text because it's the same button. Can you give us more details what exactly you are trying to do with this button?

I only want to avoid calling FindViewById every time I need to use a view. My code would be cleaner.

• RobGibbensRobGibbens Xamurai USMember, Xamarin Team, University, XamUProfessors, Developer Group Leader Xamurai