Macbook Pro / Air / Windows Laptop for development on-the-go?

RobBoothRobBooth GBMember

I'm looking for a new 'portable' machine for development having just sold on my Dell XPS Z15 which had a great 1920x1080 resolution but was quite big and heavy.
I love the idea of a 13" Air though the lower resolution (will we see something new next week?) makes me cautious.
13" MacBook Pro Retina - seems to fit the bill...again is the resolution maybe just a little low though?
15" MacBook Pro Retina - this is what I use at work and it's a great piece of kit. Is it worth the extra ~£500 over the 13" though?
I have to admit I haven't really looked at any Ultrabooks yet. Covering all 3 platforms I really need a Mac but could get by using my work machine when I need to.
What would people recommend / what are people using?

Thanks
Rob

• KMullinsKMullins USMember, Xamarin Team Xamurai

Hi @RobBooth,

I've been using a Macbook Air 13" for a couple of years now as my mobile Xamarin devbox and it works great. I so expect to see a retina version of the Air next week too... that one only seems a logical move for Apple.

Thanks,

Kevin

• SebastianSeidel.9226SebastianSeidel.9226 DEInsider, University ✭✭✭✭

I am using a Macbook Pro 13" if I am not in the office. It is a great development machine and already has - unlike the Macbook Air - a Retina display. ;-)

• RichardHopkinsRichardHopkins JPMember, University ✭✭✭

I use a 15" MacBook Pro Retina as one of my 2 main dev machines (typing this on it now). The main benefit for me has always been its ability to display retina resolutions pixel for pixel in the iOS simulator when the phone is in portrait, rather than scaling it on a conventional monitor, so you get a better idea of how it will look on the device. Plus, the crispness and clarity of the text makes editing code for long periods much nicer on the eyes. Aside from that it's just a glorious machine. Far and away the nicest laptop I've ever owned.