Best practice for including libraries?

KevinNewmanKevinNewman Kevin NewmanUSMember ✭✭

Hi!

I'm new to Xamarin and Android development, and to Xamarin Studio, and have never used Visual Studio (I used to edit C# with Dreamweaver back in the day - don't laugh too hard!!).

I'm curious what the best way to include a third party library project into my project and source control is. Specifically, I'm using this SVG sample project, to integrate an SVGView for Android: http://docs.xamarin.com/samples/SvgAndroid/

It looks like there are two main methods to include this into my solution/project. One is to include the entire project (SvgAndroid) in my solution by copying it, then linking it into my project in the "Edit References" screen under the Projects tab. Or to compile the library (in release mode) and include it as a .NET Assembly. For the SvgAndroid library project a reference needs to be added for svg-android-1.1.jar as well.

I ended up going with option two, because it seems like less overhead in source control. I copied the compiled release SvgAndroid.dll into an Assemblies folder inside my project hierarchy (though I don't have it visible inside Xamarin's Solution panel). And also copied svg-android-1.1.jar into a Jars folder, and set that the appropriate build action for that (AndroidJavaLibrary).

All of that is working, but I'm not sure if that is the best practice, or if I'm missing some functionality by doing it this way. Is it better to include the project to get better debugging for example? It was hard to figure out that SVG files loaded by this library have to have width and height attributes, because it was just failing silently without them (Illustrator CC doesn't save SVG with width/height) - would using a project have helped with better error messages?

Thanks,

Kevin N.

• AndyFlisherAndyFlisher Andy Flisher GBBeta, University ✭✭✭