Forum Xamarin.Forms

Announcement:

The Xamarin Forums have officially moved to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Microsoft Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

To create new threads and ask questions head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET and get involved today.

Visual Studio 2019, Xamarin.Android, and ContentPage

njsokalskinjsokalski Member ✭✭✭

I am a UWP developer attempting to learn Xamarin to convert my apps for Android. I know almost nothing about Xamarin or Android, so please forgive me if I am missing anything obvious. When selecting "Android App (Xamarin)" in Visual Studio 2019 (I think I have installed all related updates and workloads), the project that is created includes MainActivity.cs, content_main.xml, and activity_main.xml files, but I was expecting/hoping for something more XAML style (maybe MainActivity.xaml & MainActivity.xaml.cs or something like that?). Also, from what I have found (although like I said, I am completely new to Xamarin & Android, so I might be wrong) it sounded like I wanted something more like ContentPage as the root rather than RelativeLayout. I was hoping to have all my XAML (except, of course, for things like external or custom controls or elements that are not part of the page) in one file, but Visual Studio 2019 is creating 2 *.xml files rather than a single *.xaml or *.axml file. Is there any way to get a single *.xaml file that is more associated with the codebehind? I don't know if all this is just me adjusting to Xamarin, whether I am doing or expecting something wrongly, or if there is actually a problem. I also noticed that my Resources folder has a lot of folders starting with mipmap, which I do not see in the screenshots of most of the tutorials I have found. Am I missing or have the wrong SDKs? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Answers

• AhmetErcekAhmetErcek Member ✭✭