Forum General
We are excited to announce that the Xamarin Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

We encourage you to head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET for posting new questions and get involved today.

Threading, and awaiting, and semaphores Oh MY!

JKnottJKnott Member ✭✭✭

Hello everyone!
Sadly I am no where the programmer I once was. In what seems a previous lifetime I was a C/C++ programmer professionally for a large AV company. After the dotcom crash and some tough personal decisions I chose to join the military, and subsequently was wounded receiving a TBI in the process.
Now I am trying to get back to my roots in programming again, but from atrophy and TBI I think I am lucky to remember that I can use a semaphore to block access to a block of code (again I actually could be wrong here, a semaphore could actually be an alcoholic beverage served with a tiny umbrella for instance).
I am trying to move forward using the following assumptions. If anyone spots inconsistencies, or incorrect thoughts please let me know!

Main / UI thread = the thread that is the "MessagePump" in C/C++ programming, aka Root thread.

await = this function will be a Task<> function and to handle the returned var as a variable which could spontaneously change (when the async thread completes and the data is in it's "Stable" state.

ConfigureAwait(true) = This call will at some point need to have access to the screen or UI so let the thread it spawns come back to the main UI thread (Let's say the function want's to call DisplayAlert, or directly modify some control in the UI)

ConfigureAwait(false) = This thread will go do something off on it's own. It will never come back to the main (UI) thread. Once this function is done it's done. A one way street more or less.