Forum Xamarin Xamarin.Forms

Dynamic app name and app icon in Xamarin.Forms

mjdevelopermjdeveloper Member ✭✭✭
edited September 2019 in Xamarin.Forms

Hi guys
I'm new in Xamarin Form.
I developed an Application for a lot of customers. They have their brand, special logo, different web service address, etc. How could I have one app for them and don't customize the app for name and shortcut label and icon?
Are there any ways to do that?
Sorry for the poor English.

Best Answers

• mjdevelopermjdeveloper Member ✭✭✭
    Accepted Answer

Finally, I Create two templates of the current Android and iOS projects. when a customer orders my app then I create new android and ios from templates and customize the package name, icons, app name and etc.
    A Solution with a lot of projects!

thanks @JohnH .

Answers

edited September 2019

Thanks, John for your response. That's helpful.
    I want to have one app in the stores.
    If I would have a web service and give each customer a unique code and then change the icon and label of the app after installing according to customer specifications, name, logo, etc.
    Is this solution good?
    My customers are many and I can't customize the app for all.
    They like to have their name and logo on the application.

• JohnHJohnH GBMember ✭✭✭✭✭

You will need to research if changing the app icon is possible or not on Android, and also how to do it on iOS. I know it is possible on iOS but the user must be prompted, it isn't automatic. You will need to check if that process works for you.
    Your approach does mean however that when you build the app you will need to have all the icons, in all the right sizes, for all your different customers built in. The urls you can fetch from a web server.
    Also, I don't believe the app name (you are referring to it as label) can change dynamically at all. I could be wrong but I have never seen it on either platform.

• LeonLuLeonLu Member, Xamarin Team Xamurai