VS 2019 v16.4.5 -> XCode 11.3 on remote build machine -- story boards won't render

I am completely new to the iOS side of things, but have been working with Xamarin for about a year. I simply set things up as the come out-of-the-box from reading online, but please let me know if I went wrong somewhere.

VS 2019 on Windows connects to my Mac Mini just fine, and provisioned / updated some versions there. Connection is made and all is happy. Prior, I loaded VS 2019 on the Mac, XCode and command line tools, and Mono.

In VS 2019 on Windows, I select a new mobile iOS app and allow VS to build out the scaffolding. Click on the storyboard, LaunchsScreen.storyboard, and either the spinner just spins forever and never renders anything or I see, "This file could not be upgraded to the correct format automatically and so cannot be opened. If Xcode is correctly configured then re-saving the file in Xcode may resolve the issue." Oddly enough, I can compile and run the app--the simulator shows a blank, black window which seems right for an empty storyboard, but again, new to the Mac side of this...

I tried adding a new sotryboard--same result. An empty storyboard won't render, and therefore, I am unsure how to be able to build one out. I was hoping to use the Mini Mac as a remote build machine and stay within Windows, but I can't get this to work....

I've been looking for a solution for more than an hour with no luck. If someone can point me in the right direction, I would be grateful. I have a significant non-forms Xamarin Android app that is needing it's iOS counterpart built out.

Thank you, kindly!

Answers

• HamittirpanHamittirpan Member ✭✭✭✭

@rdowens11vx Is the problem storyboard appearing as a black screen? If this is the problem have you tried adding a View Controller from Toolbax by doing CTRL + Alt + X after deleting the storyboard and adding a new storyboard?

• rdowens11vxrdowens11vx Member ✭✭

Just tried this....