Performing a lot of queries fails (cross platform)

Hi,
I'm having a problem with database access on xamarin, testing on iOS but I believe it applies cross platform.

It is very similar to the below post:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/18056166/performing-a-lot-of-sqlite-queries-in-xamarin-android-fails

I have worked through every possible scenario over the past few days to address this, in essence the code is :-

using (SqliteConnection connection = new SqliteConnection ("Data Source=" + pathToDatabaseFile))
{
connection.Open ();
doSomething();
connection.Close();
}

I've put this into a static class to do all my database query stuff, and as I understand it this is tight and secure (i.e. no connections left open). However, it always fails at the 'connection.Open' stage when I'm running a large number of queries. I'm totally out of ideas as to how to solve this, I'm very new to Xamarin but have released apps which are using this code which work fine, its only once the number of queries (I assume) goes over a certain point.

I've looked into singleton design patterns but can't find any explicit samples of one for database access, can anyone please help as I'm totally at a loss as to how to fix this.

Thanks
John

• AndyFlisherAndyFlisher GBBeta, University ✭✭✭

Not Xamarin specific, but does this help?

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2493331/what-are-the-best-practices-for-sqlite-on-android

Personally, if possible, I would try to reuse an existing connection with appropriate check exists / connect logic, and thus reducing the number of specific connect / disconnects (let the underlying SQLite handlers manager that)

As an aside, have you tried iterating a counter to see how many connections / queries it manages before bombing out - that value may mean something to a better person than me?

• softlionsoftlion FRBeta ✭✭✭

Don't use Mono.Data.Sqlite, use sqlite.net pcl instead.

• JohnChapmanJohnChapman GBMember