Subscriptions - Upgrade

Hi, I'm a small developer. I've done iOS in Xcode but recently was asked for a cross platform iOS/Android app. I also have done Mac OSX apps and for many years Windows apps.

It seems like the Business Edition is right however right now the price tag is large. It's been a tough year and justifying $1k on a license for unknown sales if hard to do.

If I go Indie then 3 months later want to go Business is the money spent for Indie applied towards Business at the time of the Business upgrade?

• One more question... It seems like installing Xamarin in Windows installs ONLY the visual studio support. IE no Xamarin Studio under windows.

Sure I'd rather use Visual Studio but I can't since I don't have the Business Edition. How do you or can you install Xamarin Studio in Windows?

• Arrgh... Ok never mind. I just went through the pricing process to develop using Xamarin for Android, iOS, and Mac... $2697.00. WAY WAY WAY out of line considering that ALL of these platforms offer free development tools and if you are clever and careful you can leverage cross platform code.

I'm sorry to waste your time. I was almost ready to go for $1k which I could have tolerated to development in Xamarin across the three platforms. But I can't justify this expense, especially up front.

I'd almost rather have a royalty so if I do sell something you guys get a junk but asking a small developer to put down $2.5k just to get started. Sorry can't do it.

It's a shame. It looks like Xamarin has so much going for it... except the price.

• Last comment then I'll leave well enough alone. When looking at your subscription choices in big, bold is $999 / year then in small print per platform, per developer.

While the wording is there to the average person this looks very much like... ok for $999 I can cross platform develop. Not until you really start the subscription process does the "per platform, per developer" really sink in.