Cannot set LaunchImage as source of Image View control on LaunchScreen.storyboard

dswdsw Member ✭✭

I'm working on a mobile app for iOS/Android. I'm using Visual Studio Community for Mac version 8.1.5, and the project was initially created as a new Tabbed Forms Xamarin App. I'm new to mobile development and Xamarin.

When the new project was created, the Assets.xcassets "folder" already contained two items - AppIcon and LaunchImage.

I didn't create this, it already existed. There was also a LaunchScreen.storyboard file, and in the info.plist file, the iPhone Launch Images setting was already set to LaunchImage (the name of the image set in xcassets that already existed and which is shown in the screenshot above), and the Launch Screen setting was set to LaunchScreen.

I then added a bunch of images to a subfolder in the Resources folder, added each image to the correct box in the xcassets screen, saved everything and then tried to add an image to the LaunchScreen.storyboard file.

Unfortunately, when I add an Image View control to the Launch Screen, the Image dropdown in the widget properties does not list the LaunchScreen as an asset I can use!

If I create a new Image Set in the xcassets folder, it creates a screen with placeholders only for 1x, 2x, R4, and 3x

This has nowhere near the number of different images sizes (I guess because it's a general image, not an image specifically for the launch screen), but, I can set the Image View on the launch screen to use this set.

So my question is: how can I use the LaunchImage screen (with its many different sizes for different devices) as the source of an Image View widget on the LaunchScreen story-board? What am I missing?

Best Answer

Answers

• ColeXColeX Member, Xamarin Team Xamurai

Unfortunately, when I add an Image View control to the Launch Screen, the Image dropdown in the widget properties does not list the LaunchScreen as an asset I can use!