VS2017 and AIDL files

Hi

I'm completely new to Xamarin. I'm using VS2017 and I've included some AIDL files for a Sunmi V1 POS device. Eventually I need it to print to the device's thermal printer when a new order is received, but I'm struggling with the basics.

I've added the AIDL files and a Java class called TransBean (all provided by Sunmi), and I can see that when I build it, it's converted all this to C# classes. I have set the build action to AndroidInterfaceDescription for all AIDL files. Not sure what I should do for the Java file but I tried setting it to AndroidJavaSource but it didn't seem to help.

The Problem
But the generated TransBean.cs has no contents (not even the class definition). As a result, I'm getting build errors saying it can't find TransBean.

Just realised that I can't post screenshots, although I have a few that I can send (will try to describe instead)

The generated TransBean.cs file has no contents. I would have assumed it should contain a C# representation of the Java class.

The AIDL file for TransBean just looks like this

package com.sunmi.trans;

parcelable TransBean;

The TransBean.java file has lots of content e.g.

package com.sunmi.trans;

import android.os.Parcel;
    import android.os.Parcelable;

public class TransBean implements Parcelable {

private byte type = 0;
        private String text = "";
        private byte[] data = null;
        private int datalength = 0;

public TransBean(){
            type = 0;
            data = null;
            text = "";
            datalength = 0;     
        };

This is the generated TransBean.cs file. As you can see, it's empty

// This file is automatically generated and not supposed to be modified.
    using System;
    using Boolean = System.Boolean;
    using String = System.String;
    using List = Android.Runtime.JavaList;
    using Map = Android.Runtime.JavaDictionary;

namespace Com.Sunmi.Trans
    {
    }