Guidance

I am new to xamarin forms and I am trying to make a contact app. I want to have a list of departments and when a department is selected, it navigates to a list of employees within that department. From there when a specific employee is selected it navigates to a details page about that employee. What would be the best day to do this and the best way to store and retrieve the data, etc. I have a working app with just a list of employees that navigates to details and it is pulling from a json url but I can't figure out how to implement the department part of it using this method. I have attached a sketch of what I am wanting to do so it can be visualized. Thank you!

• ClintStLaurentClintStLaurent USUniversity ✭✭✭✭✭

Start with working the free textbook from cover to cover.
    https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/microsoft_press/2016/03/31/free-ebook-creating-mobile-apps-with-xamarin-forms/

Getting started in Xamarin
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/xamarin/cross-platform/get-started/

XAML Basics
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/xamarin/xamarin-forms/xaml/xaml-basics/

Data binding basics
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/xamarin/xamarin-forms/xaml/xaml-basics/data-binding-basics

Feel free to hit up on-line tutorials sites. There are plenty. Here's mine:

When you say

Its my first time using Xamarin.

If you really mean

Its my first time doing any coding at all

Then stop and don't get into Xamarin at all yet. First you need to learn C# which is the language all your logic and actual 'code' will be written in. Xamarin is an eco-system that your code operates within so that the same code can run on iOS, Android, UWP, MacOS and Tizen without having to create separate solutions for each platform. But if you can't first write code - any code - then it does you no good to try to figure out cross-platform deployment.