How to check user input with if else

atw311atw311 Member ✭✭

Hey guys, I'm very new to all this and am just trying to learn a bit. I'm trying to make a simple app and i can't figure out how to take the info a user puts in my input box and check it to display different thing based on what they put. It's a simple app for finding your out in a dart game. I have the input box and if the user types "180" i want it to redirect to an image i made showing what to aim for. if they type 150, it would redirect to a different image. and so on. I figured it would be a simple "if(var userInput = "180")" then do x, else... But apparently I'm a super noob haha. I'm having a heck of a time expressing this question in google searches to figure out what to study lol. any help would be appreciated, thanks all.

Answers

• atw311atw311 Member ✭✭

Ok, I think i figured a way to do it, but I will be having around 160 if statements.. Seems like over complicated code.. but this is what ive got so far.
    public MainPage()

{
            InitializeComponent();
        }

async void ButtonClicked(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            string goOut = Out.Text;
                if (goOut == "180")
            {
                ShowAlert("180", "Your Out Is: T20, T20, T20");

}
                else
            {
                ShowAlert("nope","No out");
            }

}
        void ShowAlert (string title, string message)
        {
            DisplayAlert(title, message, "Return");
        }
    }

}

• ClintStLaurentClintStLaurent USUniversity ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to programming.
    There are certainly a lot better strategies. I suspect that architecting a program is maybe a little new to you. Most people start out with basic learning tutorials. Then maybe small projects. And work their way up.