How can i detect key events in xamarin.forms?

Is there any way to detect key events from a physical keyboard on UWP project?, or its posible to create a custom renderer and assign "onkeydown event" to it?

Best Answers

Answers

• AdrianKnightAdrianKnight USMember ✭✭✭✭

I don't think there is a cross-platform way to detect keys. You'll need to do this in custom renderers. You might be looking at KeyEventArgs: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/37969553/detect-arrow-keys-inside-the-window-uwp

• LuisDuenasLuisDuenas USMember ✭✭
    edited October 2016

thanks for reply, any idea how can i do that custom renderer?, i have tried for hours with no results

Are you trying to detect keys on an Entry or some other control?

• LuisDuenasLuisDuenas USMember ✭✭

this is my scenario:
    i have a master detail page, i want to press ESC and return to another page, i also want to detect F1,F2,F3,...,F12 to assign different functions , thanks for the help

Instead of ContentPage, you could use MasterDetailPage. It should work although I typed it all without running it in an IDE.

• TiesTies NLMember ✭✭

AdrianKnight, thnx for your ansure. I'm getting the error that the control is null. Do you know how to fix this or why this is null?

• delphianQdelphianQ Member
    edited December 2018

This may help anyone who is having difficulty getting the accepted answer to work.

using BeforeOurTime.MobileApp.Pages.Explore;
    using BeforeOurTime.MobileApp.UWP.Pages.Explore;
    using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Text;
    using System.Threading.Tasks;
    using Windows.UI.Xaml;
    using Xamarin.Forms;
    using Xamarin.Forms.Platform.UWP;

[assembly: ExportRenderer(typeof(ExplorePage), typeof(CustomExplorePageRenderer))]
    namespace BeforeOurTime.MobileApp.UWP.Pages.Explore
    {
        public class CustomExplorePageRenderer : PageRenderer
        {
            /// <summary>