Question about Xamarin

Hello guys, I am new in this domain and I want to ask you how can I start to make an android app using Xamarin? I had the VS 2013 installed because I used it (we learn the C# at our school) and I understood that for creating android apps I need to install the Visual Studio 2017. I installed it and uninstalled several times because I simply did not understand how can I start the project.
When I select New proect -> Android -> Android App (Xamarin), there is already something written in the project .cs and it contains a lot of errors. And more than that, I don't find the "Main.axml" how I saw on youtube at guys that were making simple apps. Instead of it, I have "activity_main.axml" and "content_main.axml".
Other thing I saw on youtube was that the guys when they clicked New Project and Android, they had a lot of possibilities to choose from, including "Blank App (Android)", and I don't have that. I have only 5 possibilities:

i.imgur.com/B8y6dQG.png

So, can you help me to begin? I want you only to show me how to start the project.. :(
And, one more thing.. As I said earlier, I don't know a lot of Xamarin, but the process of creating apps is the same like the process of creating windows forms? (for instance) I mean at VS 2013 with drag&drop items on the designer tab, with properties of the elements, with events etc?

Answers

• YorkGoYorkGo CNMember, Xamarin Team Xamurai

Android emulator/Device

You need deploy your Xamarin.Android project to an emulator/Device, so please refer to:

I don't find the "Main.axml" how I saw on youtube at guys that were making simple apps. Instead of it, I have "activity_main.axml" and "content_main.axml".