How to bind the items of a listview to a seperate viewmodel?

Hi, this is about seperation of concerns and is about binding a listview item to a seperate viewmodel instead of the model itself. I was looking for a way to clean up my models that implemented a few properties only for presentation purpuses. Then I stumbled upon this post: "burkharts dot net slash apps slash blog slash advanced-listview-bindings" <- I am not yet allowed to post the source...
But maybe because I'm fairly new to Xamarin.Forms and startet learning with FreshMvvm I do not understand one or two points that are going on right here.

I hope it is ok if I cite the code passages.
So, instead of this common scenario where the model (dog listview item) is directly tied to the view

// viewmodel
[ImplementPropertyChanged]  //I use Fody here to not have to bother with INotifyPropertyChanged
public class DemoListViewPageModel
{
    public ObservableCollection<Dog> DogList

public DemoListViewPageModel()
    {
        DogList = new ObservableCollection<Dog>();

DogList.Add(new Dog() { Name = "Rex", Race = "German Sheppard" });
        DogList.Add(new Dog() { Name = "Barney", Race = "Poodle" });
        DogList.Add(new Dog() { Name = "Jimmy", Race = "Beagle" });
        DogList.Add(new Dog() { Name = "Rob", Race = "Labrador" });
    }
}

// model
// Should be something that makes a bit of sense, so why not dogs
[ImplementPropertyChanged]
public class Dogs
{
    public string Name {get; set}

public string Race {get; set;}
}

// view
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<ContentPage xmlns="..."
             xmlns:x="..."
             x:Class="Examples.DemoListViewPage">
  <ContentPage.Content>
    <StackLayout HorizontalOptions="CenterAndExpand" VerticalOptions="Center">
      <ListView ItemsSource="{Binding DogList}" HasUnevenRows="True">
        <ListView.ItemTemplate>
          <DataTemplate>         
            <ViewCell>
              <StackLayout HorizontalOptions="Start" >