Could you provide the details of how to setup Crashlytics in Xamarin (Android and IOS).

I am very new to Xamarin and having a hard time setting up Crashlytics. Any help would be appreciated.

Answers

• PedroRodrguezPedroRodrguez USMember ✭✭

Did you get yout goal? I need to set up Crashlytics on Xamarin.Android. Any help?

• JGoldbergerJGoldberger USMember, Forum Administrator, Xamarin Team, University Xamurai
  • chairmanMalchairmanMal USMember ✭✭

I have just gotten Crashlytics fully working with the iOS version of my Xamarin Forms app using XS on a Mac. To do so I did the following:

1) I started with an account on Fabric.io

2) using Xcode locally, I created an application with the same bundle id as used by my Xamarin app. Then, after downloading the Fabric Mac app from https://fabric.io/downloads/apple , I went thru the app's Crashlytic Kit's on-boarding process. The big thing to take away from this process was the shorter of the two alphanumeric strings (the first argument) used in the Xcode build phase run script it presents to you.

3) I installed in the iOS project of my app the NuGet package from MonoTouch.Fabric.Crashlytics

4) in AppDelegate.cs, I added the following lines after the global::Xamarin.Forms.Forms.Init (); line. Obviously you'll need to plug the alphanumeric string associated with your app in to the apikey string below.

string apikey = "<first (and shorter) alphanumeric string from the run phase script arguments>"
    MonoTouch.Fabric.Crashlytics.Crashlytics.StartWithAPIKey(apikey);

5) I added a 'force crash' button for testing using IoC (AutoFac in my case) or a Dependency service to provide access to

MonoTouch.Fabric.Crashlytics.Crashlytics.SharedInstance.Crash();

in your app's user interface. I only guessed this call was right but it definitely caused a crash on command!