Error on Build: Dependent project AppTest.csproj failed to build, using old version.

heiseheise Member
edited December 2017 in Xamarin.Forms

I'm very new with Xamarin and I want to test the Geolocator Plugin to get GPS Coordinates. I installed the plugin in all projects of my Native Project Solution and write code but when I play the solution with Xamarin Live I have this error:

"Dependent project AppTest.csproj failed to build, using old version."

I tried to clean the solution without effect.

Can someone help me? Many thanks.

This is my code:

using System;
using Xamarin.Forms;
using Plugin.Geolocator;

namespace Apptest
{
    public partial class MainPage : ContentPage
    {
        public MainPage()
        {
            InitializeComponent();            
        }

private async void onButtonClicked(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            var locator = Plugin.Geolocator.CrossGeolocator.Current;
            locator.DesiredAccuracy = 50;

var position = await locator.GetPositionAsync(TimeSpan.FromSeconds(100));

LatLabel.Text = position.Latitude.ToString();
            LongLabel.Text = position.Longitude.ToString();
        }
    }
}

Answers

• AtliAtli USMember ✭✭

I get the same error "Dependent project NetStatus.csproj failed to build, using old version." when I just add the using Plugin.Connectivity; to the App class, and try to test it on a Android device (Samsung 8 through Live Player.)

• I'm getting the same error whenever I try to rename a file, or a class and whenever I need to change namespaces (when creating folders to organize or something like that). I think this error have been caused after the .NET Standard selection update while creating the project (blog.xamarin.com/whats-new-visual-studio-2017-version-15-5/).

When I try to run the app I cannot debug cause of this error, and when I force CTRL+F5 it runs like I haven't changed the code.

Example:

//1. Before commenting the DisplayAlert