Connexion form: how to use MVVM correctly?

Hi,

I am studying Xamarin.Forms. I don't know very well MVVM and I have some question about it.

I want to create a connexion form (login/password) and to manage this connexion by sending connexion informations to a RPC, RPC that will report if the connexion is accepted (1) or refused (0). How to organize my Xamarin.Forms project to respect MVVM?

This is how I work now:

• I have a "Views/" folder in which there is a Page that describes the connexion form (in XAML and C#)
  • I have a "Models/" folder in which I created a "User" class. This "User" class contains a "Login" property and a "Password" property. This class contains too an asynchronous method named "CheckConnexion()" that returns a value telling me if the connection is OK or if there is a login/password error. This method doesn't directly perform the connection verification itself, but she use a class inside the "Services/" folder
  • I have a "Services/" folder in which there is a class that contains methods to access to RPC

The connexion works... but I don't use any "ViewModel".

My questions:

1. I found it normal that this is the "User" class that owns the "CheckConnexion()" method. But should I move this method in a class of a "ViewModels/" folder (the class can be named "ConnexionViewModel" for example) ?

2. If yes, what property should I create in my "ConnexionViewModel" class? Nothing at all since I will simply use the "CheckConnexion()" method? Or simply a field (an "int") indicating if the connection worked without problems (1 for OK, 0 for not OK)?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

Tagged:

• igorkr_10igorkr_10 ✭✭✭ Member ✭✭✭

You can see my post on another topic. There is an activityIndicator example but you can use it for your purposes

• RobertLafriteRobertLafrite Member

@AlessandroCaliaro said:
    XXXXXXXXXX (I can not post links :) )

Thank you. This video is perfect. Very interesting :)