Xamarin Profiler Gripes, Suggestions, and Questions

Sorry for the multiple topics here but this is my first time using the profiler and I'd like to bring up some issues, some of which maybe can be answered here, some of which maybe can help the profiler team move forward.

For reference, I've spent most of my .NET days programming video games, and as such have spent a lot of time with the CLR profiler, hunting down allocations and making sure the garbage collector is almost never running. By comparison to the free tool from nearly a decade ago (maybe a decade), the Xamarin Profiler is pretty bad.

Performance

The Xamarin Profiler completely kills my application. I have it taking snapshots ever 30 seconds, so I'm guessing it should be silent inbetween, but my Xamarin Forms app is nearly unusable. I click on a button and it takes ~5 seconds for the app to respond and move to the next screen.

Furthermore, the app itself, which nromally fires up in about 3-5 seconds takes > 1 minute to fire up, and I have to suppress the "app isn't responding" message on the emulator.

The profiler seems to be looking at memory many times - nearly one per second, rather than every 30 seconds...

Maybe this isn't the same as a snapshot but whatever it's doing, it's making my app run way slow.

I should point out that the CLR profiler, whcih seems to investigate and record every allocation can still be used on video games and they maintain 60 fps so long as they're not too complex. Whereas this is not taking snapshots of all allocations, and makes a Xamarin Forms app unusable.

I get it's not the same hardware or underlying tech but from a user experience, it seems unacceptable.

I should point out, if I manually set snapshots, then performance seems fine, and the snaphots behave as expected, but the setting for "every 30 seconds" seems to not do anything except make it take a snapshot every second.

Call Stacks/Object Graphs