Offline Login System....

Hi Folks,

I am pretty new to Xamarin although have built one app that uses SQLite, it stores a hashed password which it uses for offline login. There are also web services calls which interact with our MS-SQL database for resetting and synching other data.

This time I am going to try using Azure Mobile App and have everything in the cloud. The requirements for this project need information to be synched pretty much on the go - it is a delivery app and I just think the built in functionality of Azure/cloud database hosting are going to save me a lot of time (and it just works)!

Here is the scenario - in the morning the driver logs into the system (will always have wifi first thing), deliveries for the day sync to the phone usine the MobileServiceSQLiteStore. Great I hear you say.

Logging in is no problem when the driver has signal but they still need to be able to sign in to contnue with deliveries when offline. Has anyone got any recommendations?

I have been looking into Azure AD but think it may be overkill. Not sure if it is possible just to pull a single record from Azure of the driver down in the morning and store on the phone for checking throughout the day and purge this when signing off or will it pull the whole staff table down?

All help is greatly appreciated, seem like it should be easier to do than I am making it out.

Thanks,

• Nadjib_BaitNadjib_Bait DZMember ✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2018

You need to store an Access Token, not a password hash. Then you use that Access Token as authentication mechanism, which will get sent with the sync request once the user is online...

So the flow is like this:
    1. User login when he's online. He gets an access token from your server. You store it.
    2. Guy gets offline, he does his delivery, you don't need the access token since you're updating the local db (no authentication needed)