Using declarative style C# instead of XAML - should Xamarin redirect XAML efforts elsewhere?

2»

• IceJovanoskiIceJovanoski MKMember ✭✭

I did c# UI on my first Xamarin project, and ended up rewriting it in XAML, but I'd gladly give it another try now after 2 years of Xamarin development. I'd also like to note that I have no previous experience with XAML or anything desktop related coming from web development.

I like your helpers and the approach, also the focus of Xamarin team that you point out. Do you think we can further expand this and maybe turn it into an OSS project?

I'll also make some pages to get a better overview of the helpers and compare full pages XAML vs C# and will be back with results :)

• MikeEEEMikeEEE USMember ✭✭✭

Really good discussion here. Thank you for facilitating this, @VincentH. My take on this is that the primary point of enabling a format is cost savings. Whereas you had issues with the Blend->WPF workflow, I have had magic with it many times. The workflow between designer and developer is critical. A serialized format enables this at a much granular (and CHEAPER) degree than compiled code (or coded/scripted language).