very poor axml intellisense in visual studio

Hello,

as a xamarin developer I always have problem with the intellisense in visual studio ( 2015 - 2017 **latest updates ).

short time ago we have problems about the schemas and everything else and that was a pain really.
now that problem is gone but still very poor intellisense in axml files. we get some intel about the properties for obvious things like LinearLayout but there is no intellisense for AppCompat and support libraries. android studio does that very well with a lot of more features.

right now, Im using android studio to edit my axml files which is better really but thats hard in the end of the day. you should go back and forth and use a lot of memory and cpu to do that.

So, the real thing is, is it even possible to have a full intellisense in VS or we should continue using android studio?
if yes, do you guys working on it? and if yes when should we expect it?

• MehdiDehghaniMehdiDehghani USMember ✭✭

Yeah, I'm using Android Studio for UI and editing XML files too and it's boring. Android Studio eat RAM and CPU, but it is really great for working with XML files. using such a IDE just for working with XML file because Visual Studio can not do the same is a real shame, but as far as I know, there is no other option.

• CharwakaCharwaka INMember ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2018

@M_R_Safari said:
    Hello,

as a xamarin developer I always have problem with the intellisense in visual studio ( 2015 - 2017 **latest updates ).

short time ago we have problems about the schemas and everything else and that was a pain really.
    now that problem is gone but still very poor intellisense in axml files. we get some intel about the properties for obvious things like LinearLayout but there is no intellisense for AppCompat and support libraries. android studio does that very well with a lot of more features.