Xamarin iOS & Android APP

Hi,

I'm new in Xamarin, and I'm developing an application that will work on iOS and Android.

Right now I'm with some doubts. It will be an application of cooking recipes to a website that already exists. Basically the application will list recipes ... that are returned by a current webpage WebService.

I have some doubts about the architecture. To not always be calling the WebService I'm thinking create an internal database where I'm storing the categories, recipes ... The problem is to know when I go to the webservice to see if there are new recipes or categories. WebSockets is a good solution?

Another question I have, is that I have to download images, I store these images in a folder of the phone right?

Best Regards

• nodoidnodoid GBMember, Beta ✭✭✭

In no particular order

When you download images you can store them on the device (device == phone, tablet, or whatever supports Android or iOS). Depending on the device depends on where you store them.

Internal databases are very simple to do - SQLite is supported on Android and iOS and the SQLite component is available from the component store (personally, I don't use the component store one, but just build from source). Create the table depending on the structure the web service sends down and store internally.

Both iOS and Android support WCF, JSON etc quite nicely so the web service aspect isn't an issue (WCF is an issue if you're using Java though). As to checking the web service you have two options

1. Push notification (not hard to do but a bit of a faff, the service sends out a push notification, the app responds and downloads the new recipes)
      or
    2. Periodic check - simple to implement, check when the app is fired up or the user requests it.