Correct XAML pattern to bind element to BindingContext property ('x:Name' binds to page not context)

Hi, I'm new to Xamarin, but I've already built a few pages and have got most of the binding working flawlessly.
I am, however, having an issue figuring out the proper way to bind an element in XAML (a Map to be precise) to a child property of the BindingContext (a ViewModel). I see that the "x:Name" attribute will bind it to a property of the page class, but not the context. All the other binding examples affect values of an element, but not the element object itself.
Is there a way to do this cleanly, or do I have to do what I'm doing now where the page class passes the element (Map) along into the ViewContext manually at startup?

Answers

• KamrankhalilKamrankhalil ✭✭ USMember ✭✭

@GlennPowell You should be able to bind directly to view model. Can you give example code, what you're trying to do ?

• ChaseFlorellChaseFlorell mod CAInsider, University mod
    edited December 2017

in code behind

public class MyPage: Page {
        public MyPage() {
            InitializeComponent();
            BindingContext = new MyPageModel();
        }
    }

public class MyPageModel : INotifyPropertyChanged {
        public string Name {
            get {  return _name; }
            set {
                _name = value;
                RaisePropertyChanged();
            }
        }
    }

in Xaml

<Label Text="{Binding Name}" />

note: x:Name just exposes that name to the code behind.

<Label x:Name="MyLabel" />

public MyPage() {
        InitializeComponent();
        BindingContext = new MyPageModel();
        MyLabel.TextChanged += (sender, args) => {
            // do something when text changes.
        }
    }

• GlennPowellGlennPowell USMember