Forum General
We are excited to announce that the Xamarin Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

We encourage you to head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET for posting new questions and get involved today.

What is the best BaaS for a solo Novice-Intermediate programmer making a social/dating app

JohnButlerJohnButler USMember ✭✭

I will give you a little background on my experience and the app to help paint a better picture of what I need out of the BaaS, and then tell you what choices I have narrowed it down to.

Me:
I am a pretty novice-intermediate programmer, and the entire app will be developed by me. I have developed and released a 2 mobile games, and started work on a Console/PC game using Unity. But I am self taught and have very minimal App coding experience. And I just started with Xamarin a month ago.

App/Web service:
The App/Web service would have to have similar functionality of an App/Web service like Eharmony. So it should be both a Mobile App (Android/iOS) and a Website. It should contain user data and then display a "feed" of other users based on certain criteria. So database storage that allows some algorithms to be run on it for sorting. I also would need secure login functionality. I would also need advertizing support. And would prefer to use AdMob, because I have some previous experience.

My Research:
From my findings I am thinking of going with Azure or Firebase.
AWS seems like it would be to complicated to set up for me to use, and sort of more power than I need or want, right now.