Connecting to database (Best Practice)

J_K_JJ_K_J USMember

Hi, i'm new to xamarin and have a question about database connections.

As i understand it, xamarin has SQLite built in.
But what if you already have an SQL database with all your data. What is then best practice? I read that some just uses REST to request data?

Thanks! :smile:

Tagged:

• DaveSmashDaveSmash USMember ✭✭

Yes, I would recommend requesting your data from a RESTful web service, and have the web service query the database. There are several advantages to this.

1) If you want to make changes to your queries for the sake of fixing bugs, doing performance tuning, or adding features, you can immediately push an update to the web service, and your end users will not have to update their app.

2) It is a best practice to whitelist IP addresses that can access your database (for example, to use Azure's SQL databases, you must enter every IP address that will access the database - requests from other IP addresses will be denied.) Your web service will have one, predictable IP address, while your app might be on thousands of devices that each get new IP addresses all the time.

3) You can make a more secure system this way. I am not a hacker, but I feel like storing things like SQL connection strings and passwords on a relatively vulnerable device like a user's phone is more dangerous than having it on your web server. Also, you can add additional security logic to your web service and patch security holes immediately (again, without your user having to update their app.)

• J_K_JJ_K_J USMember

@DaveSmash said:
    Yes, I would recommend requesting your data from a RESTful web service, and have the web service query the database. There are several advantages to this.

1) If you want to make changes to your queries for the sake of fixing bugs, doing performance tuning, or adding features, you can immediately push an update to the web service, and your end users will not have to update their app.