Why is Xamarin Forms package not installing

louwholouwho USMember ✭✭✭

I am not a total Xamarin new guy, I have done a little Xamarin development using Visual Studio. I just got a used MacBook Pro, installed the latest of everything (OS, Xcode, Xamarin Studio, etc). So, I am new to Mac, and Xamarin Studio. Working my way through book "Mastering Xamarin UI Development" (which requires a Mac and Xamarin Studio). I created a cross-platform solution and got to a point when it says to add Map packages, and did so with no errors for the PCL and iOS projects, but failed for Android. Then I noticed that the Droid project did not even have the Xamarin Forms package, and then I remembered some kind of error when the solution was being created, that I had ignored.

I started a new test project, and as it was being created, the errors below appeared, and again there was nothing in the Droid packages folder. So, what am I
missing here, an app on the Mac, or something that needs to be added to Xamarin Studio?

Resolving dependency information took 0 ms
Resolving actions to install package 'Xamarin.Android.Support.v4.23.3.0'
Resolved actions to install package 'Xamarin.Android.Support.v4.23.3.0'
Retrieving package 'Xamarin.Android.Support.v4 23.3.0' from '__nid_1019'.
For adding package 'Xamarin.Android.Support.v4.23.3.0' to project 'Test1.Droid' that targets 'monoandroid23'.
Install failed. Rolling back...
Package 'Xamarin.Android.Support.v4.23.3.0' does not exist in project 'Test1.Droid'
Package 'Xamarin.Android.Support.v4.23.3.0' does not exist in folder '/Users/louis/Projects/Test1/packages'
Executing nuget actions took 79.94 ms
Could not install package 'Xamarin.Android.Support.v4 23.3.0'. You are trying to install this package into a project that targets 'MonoAndroid,Version=v2.3', but the package does not contain any assembly references or content files that are compatible with that framework. For more information, contact the package author.