How to click button and open another View?

Hi. Noob here. My experience 100% on iOS (XCode) objC only.
I am surprised there aren't any easy tutorial for Xamarin MVVMCross that goes
beyond helloworld but not too complicated.

I am following Xamarin MVVMCross tutorial in youtube and on the iOS app portion.
I managed to create the xib using XCode and reopening it on xamarin studio, naming the
objects. But I don't have any idea how to assign the button to an eventhandler (onclick),
and upon clicking it opens another Page?

Any guide or sample code is much appreciated.

Best Answer

Answers

• ClintStLaurentClintStLaurent USUniversity ✭✭✭✭✭

First question: If you're new to it what made you decide to add MVVMCross? What was lacking in the built-in MVVM support that made you feel you needed a 3rd party package?

I don't have any idea how to assign the button to an eventhandler (onclick),

Don't. Please don't use that old .Click crap. That's carry over to ease the transition from WinForms to WPF. But it really shouldn't be used in modern XAML/WPF/Xamarin. Assign a Command in accordance with good, modern XAML/MVVM principals.

Honestly - if you're this new to XAML/MVVM concepts and are still working on the basics I would suggest taking out MVVMCross. You just don't need to complicate your life by trying to add stuff you don't have a need for.

Getting started Xamarin site page

Creating mobile apps in Xamarin - Free ebook download - the de facto textbook for Xamarin.