Xamarin Studio not downloadable under Windows anymore?

Hello there,

did i miss out on some news?
I cant download Xamarin.Studio anymore.
I Found the "How to install documentation" which only mentions Visual Studio and unter my Account and Downloads i can only install the XamarinInstaller.exe but this is also only installing the extensions for VS.

Every other Download-Link seems to redirect to the default "Download Xamarin for Visual Studio" Page.
Even the Preview here in the Forums has a deadlink.

I would realy like to download only the Xamarin.Studio because its so much more lightweight.

Greetings
Lui

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• AlessandroCaliaroAlessandroCaliaro ITMember ✭✭✭✭✭

I think it is not possible. You have vs for Windows and XS for Mac

• LuiGbkesLuiGbkes USMember

Thanks Dave this helped me a lot :smile: didnt see that option.

• YipYipYipYip AUMember

I am new to Xamarin and after 3 weeks of working through Plurasight, Udemy and various Books I am finding that Visual Studio 2015 Ent Update 3 keeps throwing crazy errors. i.e cant have an imagecell with a textcell in a datatemplate and bind in a listview. Cant run 5.1 lollipop with a tabpanel. real black magic stuff :(. Also trying to replicate in a new project you start to get different problems let alone getting to teh same stage and what you where originally trying to fix.

Im using Genymotion and a mac agent with 10.2.

I find 6.0 marshmallow is what seems to work until i hit the Databinding imagecell with a textcell.

So far all of the books and instructors are using Xamarin Studio...is this the elephant in th room that VS plugin is too buggy ?

Also I d/l and install 6.12 Xam studio but i cant see a iOS project. Are you not able to create a iOS project unless you are running on a mac ??

Thanks in Advance

• DaveHuntDaveHunt USMember ✭✭✭✭✭