Authentication Choice: Azure Mobile App SDK vs. Xamarin Auth

I am relatively new to Xamarin Cross Platform Environment. Is it better to use Xamarin Auth component to avoid an unnecessary hop (and costs) to a Azure Mobile App.

Best Answer

Answers

• SreeSundaramSreeSundaram USMember ✭✭

Thanks Pierce. I am already using Azure Mobile Apps to manage storage and my offline sync. In addition to agreeing with you, I am also interested in managing it client side simply to reduce my Azure charges. Is there any example you can provide wherein I can tap into the native SDK of these identity providers.

Thanks Lucio. But your example refers to using Azure Mobile App service which is precisely what I am trying to avoid by keeping all the authentication calls on the client side.

• PierceBogganPierceBoggan USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team, Developer Group Leader Xamurai
    edited February 9

@SreeSundaram: The tricky thing is that it still requires the same number of hits to the Azure service to authenticate. The flow is something like this:

1. Use client library to authenticate user on device.
    2. Pass authentication token from client library back to Azure (via the LoginAsync method).
    3. Azure will issue a new ZUMO token (just their version of an authentication token that's unified across different identity providers), which you use when hitting the app's backend service.

I have written some code for doing this in the past, just need to dig it up. :smile:

Thanks Pierce. Please let me know when you "dig" up the code :smile: I am looking for a true cross platform solution involving iOS, Android and UWP. All of my online searches only have iOS and Android examples and no UWP :(

• batmacibatmaci DEMember ✭✭✭✭

Does Azure verify validity of the token with the provider as well? As I know AWS cognito does this. So if I am logged in, I only ask Cognito if my previous token is still valid on Facebook side using AWS token like Zumo token.