Developing iPhone app on Windows

nicolasr75nicolasr75 DEMember

Hello all,

I'm totally new to Xamarin and iPhone app programming.

My background is C++/C# and my company is developing hardware devices and Windows software to talk to these devices. Now we want to invade into the world of mobile apps...

Before we buy enterprise development studios, iMacs for developers etc. my boss would like to see a simple example.

The restrictions are:

• I only have a Windows development machine
  • We have a customer who would like to participate in the beta development and has our testing device, an iMac and an iPhone.
  • We have no direct network connection to this customer

My question:

Is it possible to use Xamarin to develop a simple iPhone app with C# and transfer this app regularly for testing to the customer via Email?

As far as I understand the customer would then need to build the app on the iMac and would need a developer account to be able to transfer the app to the iPhone without an AppStore approval.

I would be very grateful if anyone could tell me wether this is possible!

Thanks,
Nick

• ChrisHonselaarChrisHonselaar NLBeta ✭✭✭

You do need a Mac around for basic debugging at the very least.
    If you do not have access to one and need a quick solution, check macincloud.com. They claim to support Xamarin.
    This also allows you to provide ready-to-run IPAs to your client, saving hassle. You can use TestFlight to make it even more straightforward.

• nicolasr75nicolasr75 DEMember
    edited May 2013

Thanks for your reply. Macincloud looks like a great option for testing!

• NicWiseNicWise NZMember, Insider, Beta mod

Can you borrow the iMac just to do the beta? or rent a mac for a month or so?