Publish app‏

I am new to xamarin forms, I create a new app but I not able to get a copy for test.
I try to publish apps only windows phone and UWP success but I don't know which file to send to test.
Android and IOS don't publish successfully.
I want to know the right way to get a copy for test team.

Best Answer

Answers

• GeraldVersluisGeraldVersluis NLUniversity ✭✭✭✭

For Android and iOS there are different ways to go about. Both Google and Apple have their own beta mechanisms.
    For Google you can see the description here and for Apple it basically comes down to providing your app to Apple by the usual Application Loader, wait till your build is approved and then find it in the TestFlight tab. The rest should be self-explanatory.

Another possibility is to use HockeyApp. If I'm not mistaken that is available for both Android and iOS and gives you some more control over versions that you release, collecting feedback, etc.

• NMackayNMackay GBInsider, University mod
    edited April 2016

@GeraldVersluis

Yeah, Hockeyapp supports deployment to iOS, Android, MacOS, Windows Phone and Windows. We use it currently for beta and UAT deployment but I suspect it will become a full deployment solution for mobile at some stage. Hopefully Evolve will shed some more light on this.

The error reporting in Insights is good and metrics. Merging both products will hopefully keep the best of both products. The Hockeyapp dashboard is pretty horrible and SDK integration is very clunky whereas Insights is a breeze to integrate in your app so hopefully they keep the best of both products...you never know with Microsoft though. It'll be badged with some Azure name no doubt.

• ThomasBurkhartThomasBurkhart DEMember ✭✭✭✭

How does HokeyApp bypass the Appstores? I always thought especially on iPhone you have to use iTunes to install an App?

• GeraldVersluisGeraldVersluis NLUniversity ✭✭✭✭