Suggested improvement to Xamarin documentation

EasyGoingPatEasyGoingPat GBMember ✭✭✭

Hi,

Not sure if this is the right place for this, but I would like to suggest what I believe would be a huge improvement to the Xamarin documentation.

I'm doing a new PCL application, which initially targets WinPhone and iOS. I'm new to both platforms. When I have to write platform-specific code, I find a huge disparity between the documentation for the two platforms. Generally speaking, the iOS will list a Xamarin.iOS thin wrapper on something and often a link to the Apple documentation for the UIKit-etc. class on which the Xamarin wrapper is based, which saves me a load of time and gives me confidence that I am looking at the right part of the iOS SDK. For Windows Phone, I usually get a deafening nothing.

I fully understand that Xamarin, being C#/.NET based doesn't actually do a great deal on Windows Phone, but, given that Xamarin proudly advertises Windows Phone as a supported platform, shouldn't the documentation be done on an equal footing?

Maybe the Windows Phone documentation could just be a thin wrapper, pointing to the appropriate parts of the Microsoft .NET documentation.

If this sounds like nit-picking, I had an example yesterday when this would have saved me a lot of time. I wanted to play sound on iOS and Windows Phone. Looking for the latter solution, I stumbled across the MediaElement and wasted ages playing with this, until @GeraldVersluis kindly pointed me to the XNA SoundEffect class.

Could I CC this to @AmyB.

Kind wishes ~ Patrick

• GeraldVersluisGeraldVersluis NLUniversity ✭✭✭✭

While I somewhat share your opinion that the documentation should be up-to-date (if it is there), I also get it from the Xamarin side of things. Who wouldn't much rather be coding than writing documentation, right?!