New to Xamarin, what can it do?

Swe44Swe44 SEMember
edited July 2015 in General

Hi.. I have been building apps for 3 years using GM studio... and I am very tired of it being limited with it's sandbox features etc...

How is Xamarin in comparison? Does it have any limits or is anything possible?

Is it possible to for example create account systems such as "login with facebook", upload images and files to the app from the local device storage, or/even networking functions such as chat, online game battles etc...?

How is the learning curve for Xamarin? Is it easy to learn? Are there any good tutorial sources out there?

I presume it uses C++ as programming language?

EDIT: Is Xamarin Studio really free? Or are there hidden cost? Can I really develop a full app and publish it completely free??

Tagged:

Answers

• JasonAwbreyJasonAwbrey USInsider, University, Developer Group Leader mod

Xamarin is essentially a wrapper around the native iOS and Android APIs. Anything you can do natively you should be able to do with Xamarin.

Xamarin primarily uses C# as it's language, with some F# support.

The Developer center (see top menu) is full of articles, walkthroughs, and complete sample apps.

There are multiple license tiers available. There is a free tier, but it is fairly limited. You can get a 90 day trial of the Business edition just by downloading it.

• FredyWengerFredyWenger CHInsider ✭✭✭✭✭

@Swe44:
    If you want to start with Xamarin, you may have a look at my starter-guide, that I have wrote some time ago:
    http://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/36821/quickstart-guide-to-start-developing-with-xamarin-forms#latest

• LoriLalondeLoriLalonde CAInsider, University, Developer Group Leader ✭✭✭
    edited July 2015