Help me choose Xamarin

JamesParsonsJamesParsons USMember

Hello all! I am an ex-Java developer coming to the word of .Net and JavaScript. I have seen Xamarin, and it looks amazing. Despite this amazement, I am still weary of the platform. So far, I have liked what I've seen. The coolest feature ever to e was the ability to build iOS storyboard on Visual Studio at least with a networked Mac). I also love the ability to share code and Xamarin Forms seems cool. My problems lie with what other people say. Pricing for one is an issue. On my current project, this won't matter the project manager will certainly buy the business license after I explain Xamarin to him, but after I would Like an Indie license for myself. Here comes the issue of no Visual Studio support in the Indie license. Xamarin Studio would be fine, but on Windows, I can only target Android, not to mention I can't even get one of the samples to build. Plus I don't get to use ReSharper. I used to use Braintree to handle payments, but Xamarin doesnt seem to be supported.

There are definatly some Xamarin drawbacks, but I still want to use it. I want to hear from the community what can counter these drawbacks, and beyond what they market, why I should use Xamarin.

• LoriLalondeLoriLalonde CAInsider, University, Developer Group Leader ✭✭✭

You can always start out with the Xamarin Starter edition which gives you Visual Studio support and it's free. You can develop small apps and publish them: http://xamarin.com/starter

There are plenty of examples they provide of apps that are Starter compatible so you can get an idea of what you can do with the Starter edition.

• JamesParsonsJamesParsons USMember

I've been messing around with the starter, and it was pretty cool, but whenever I attempt to build the "Mobile CRM" example, it builds about 75% of the way and then crashes (Xamarin Studio)

• Robo_PiRobo_Pi USMember