Xamarin.VisualStudio.Shell package did not load correctly

WilliamReesWilliamRees USMember, University
edited October 2014 in Visual Studio

Hello Xamarin Community,

I am new to Xamarin and am trying to install Xamarin for Windows on my development box which is not connected to the internet for security purposes.

On my dev box I am running Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate Version 10.0.40219.1 SP1Rel.

I installed the following components in this exact order:

1. JDK 1.6: http://download.xamarin.com/Installer/MonoForAndroid/jdk-6u39-windows-i586.exe
  2. Android SDK: http://dl.google.com/android/installer_r23.0.2-windows.exe
  3. GTK#: http://download.xamarin.com/GTKforWindows/Windows/gtk-sharp-2.12.26.msi
  4. Xamarin Studio: http://download.xamarin.com/studio/Windows/XamarinStudio-5.5.0.227-0.msi
  5. Xamarin for Windows (includes Xamarin.iOS for Visual Studio and Xamarin.Android): http://download.xamarin.com/XamarinforVisualStudio/Windows/Xamarin.VisualStudio_Setup-3.7.203.msi

Xamarin Studio fires up with no issues for me, however Visual Studio throws the following error when it tries to load up.

_"The 'Xamarin.VisualStudio.Shell.ShellPackage, Xamarin.VisualStudio.Shell, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture-neural, PublicKeyToken=0738eb9f132ed756' package did not load correctly.

The problem may have been caused by a configuration change or by the installation of another extension. You can get more information by running the application together with the /log parameter on the command line, and then examining the file 'C:\Users\userName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\VisualStudio\10.0\ActivityLog.xml'."_

When I view the ActivityLog.xml, I find these two entries regarding Xamarin.

<entry>
    <record>316</record>
    <time>2014/10/29 17:58:22.968</time>
    <type>Error</type>
    <source>VisualStudio</source>