Selling Xamarin to Clients

BenBishopBenBishop USBeta ✭✭

Hello All,
I originally sent this as a email to [email protected], but I thought I would also post it in this forum in case any of the community members have thoughts on how I can address this with clients.

"Hello,
My name is Ben Bishop and I've been an active and enthusiastic developer of Mono apps for the past year. Additionally, in August, I will be sharing this enthusiasm at 360|Stack as a speaker.

With that said, I've recently been given an opportunity to pitch an Android tablet application to a client I'd love to work for.

For the past couple of days, I've been working on a presentation on why I think Xamarin will be a great fit for their project. Unfortunately, I've run into two issues/selling points that trouble me:

1) The licensing fee

2) If I were to get hit by a bus, how many Xamarin devs are there in the world to take my place?

Regarding point 1, I personally do not mind paying the fee, but when I've pitched Xamarin/Mono in the past, clients have balked at the price (considering Appcelerator and PhoneGap are free.)

Regarding point 2, I did a quick search on LinkedIn. There's currently 1500 people total that have Mono for Android listed on their profile. This is a small figure compared to the fact that there are 15k+ people with PhoneGap on their profile and 40k+ for Android.

I am most definitely going to highlight the benefits of C# as a language and its value in cross platform development, but these two aforementioned points have me very concerned about how to sell Xamarin to clients.

When potential clients don't have much technical knowledge, they tend to lean on things like cost and staffing ability and don't really care about how much of a joy it is to work with a technology.

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated!!!"

• Bewolf2Bewolf2 KHMember, Beta