Confusion about Product Names, Versions, Platform Requirements and Prices

BrianBassBrianBass USMember

Ok, I am a pro C# developer and just started my Xamarin Trial. I am getting really confused about what is required to get a multi-platform solution up and running.

I am one person and am not an enterprise.
I see alot of stuff on Google about MonoDeveloper, MonoTouch and MonoAndroid and at the end of my searches I come to Xamarin.IOS, Xamarin.Android, Xamarin Studio and VS2012 Integration. Did those original open source products disappear or are they still keeping up to date? So I wonder if someone from the company can answer my questions for all to see.

1. Did the MonoTouch and MonoDroid projects turn into Xamarin.IOS and Xamarin.Android or are they still open source?
  2. From what I understand Xamarin Studio can be installed on Windows 8 for an indie developer. Is that right?
  3. But Xamarin Studio cannot develop IOS apps remotely the same way Visual Studio does. Right? In order for an IOS app to be developed a Business License must be purchased so that it can remote into a mac and do a build?
  4. There is no GUI for developing IOS screens on any platform except using a mac's xcode editor? Right?
  5. Also each license is only valid for one platform right? So if I really wanted to develop a true cross platform solution I would have to purchase a $999 license for each platform, Android, IOS, Windows 8, Windows Phone 7 and Windows Phone 8. Right? Which would be around $5K?
  6. In addition I could not develop for IOS, Windows 8, Windows Phone 7/8 in Xamarin Studio on Windows. Right?
  7. But I can develop for Android and IOS using Xamarin Studio on a Mac with an indie license, but not develop for windows? Right?

Is there a simple breakdown of development flow? I can see great power in having one codebase, but the confusion about which products are used for what is holding me back as well as the price. Thanks,
Brian Bass