Cannot design axml, Tasky not working

JasonGoemaatJasonGoemaat USMember
edited June 2013 in Xamarin.Android

I downloaded the "Tasky" sample from somewhere but the only button, 'Add Task', doesn't work. Debugging I see that taskListView never gets set as FindViewById returns null. I try to open the TaskDetails axml (I'm really new to android) and it has just the gray rectangle with a message "The Android SDK could not be found. Make sure the path to the SDK ...". That seems strange since it finds the SDK in the options and the app compiles and runs in the emulator just fine.

• LluisSanchezLluisSanchez ESXamarin Team Xamurai

Are you using Windows or Mac?

• TomasVymazalTomasVymazal USMember

I can confirm this behavior on Mac. Except the part with TaskDetails.axml. I am able to view it and have no problems with Android SDK. But TaskyAndroid crashes immediately after launch, just as JasonGoemaat wrote. Exception is thrown on 57 line in HomeScreen.cs. I have not modified this solution or code in any way. Running on OS X 10.8.3, Xamarin Studio 4.0.3 (build 13), trial Android licence. Does anybody know the solution?

• JonathanPryorJonathanPryor USXamarin Team Xamurai

@TomasVymazal: What's the exception + full stack trace you get?

StackTrace:

System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object at TaskyAndroid.Screens.HomeScreen.OnResume () [0x00023] in /Users/tomas/Projects/Tasky/Android/TaskyAndroid/Screens/HomeScreen.cs:57 at Android.App.Activity.n_OnResume (intptr,intptr) [0x00008] in /Users/builder/data/lanes/monodroid-lion-bigsplash/0e0e51f9/source/monodroid/src/Mono.Android/platforms/android-10/src/generated/Android.App.Activity.cs:2501 at at (wrapper dynamic-method) object.707f5893-fd64-4968-8956-b750bef0f6a8 (intptr,intptr) <IL 0x00011, 0x0003b> at

It is NullReferenceException. Debugging shows that

taskListView = FindViewById<ListView> (Resource.Id.lstTasks);