Xamarin.iOS ScrollView please help

ervaerva USMember ✭✭

Hi Guys!

I really need your help. I'm new at developing Xamarin.iOS apps and now I'm totally stuck. I cannot get the hang of how to implement a dynamic ScrollView in iOS, it was fairly easy to implement on Android.

So what I'm trying to implement is a view that contains mostly text (that will be quite long, hence the scrolling, but also two buttons.
Here is a gif in Android showing what I'm trying to achieve:

The view is like this:

Header
Long text
Copyright button
 -- Copyright text 
Terms of usage button
 -- Terms of usage text

I have struggled with the scrolling so long and I really need your help. All of the text properties are getting bound to the view by binding with MvvmCross so the view can't be with hard-coded heights and widths, it needs to adjust properly.

Can somebody please show me with a sample project how to implement it?

The view needs to be in a .xib view (because of MvvmCross) and it cannot contain a UIViewcontroller.

So the solution needs to be in a simple UIView
I'm working on a Windows, with Visual Studio 2015 enterprise, and I cannot use a Mac (and Xcode) other than to compile my code with.

What I've tried is a solution like this:

UIView called "MyRootview"
-- UIScrollView called "MyScrollView"
-- -- UIView called "MyContentView"

Can you please help me?

• ervaerva USMember ✭✭
  • descorpdescorp RUUniversity ✭✭
    Hi @erva

Indeed iOS is a bit different from Android in terms how view behave in case of resizing. Foldable items is one of most painful examples.

Simplest ways to implement it:
    1) Put all views inside your ScrollView into StackView and show/hide them when needed. StackView must be attached to sides of ScrollView with width equal to container's width.
    2) Use TableView with auto-height rows in place of ScrollView and reload collection when needed.

P.S. sorry no links, but if you have any questions - let me know
  • TedRogersTedRogers USMember ✭✭✭✭