Where are the XAML designer tools?

Answers

• @ClintStLaurent said:

@aquabay said:
    Yep, definitely needed. Developers don't want to be scratching out designs in XML.

Please don't try to speak for all Developers like that. I've been doing XAML for over 15 years and would never use drag-n-drop. Its available in WPF and still no professional-grade developers I know would use it because of all the overhead that comes in. Every single property gets populated by default instead of how a developer would start with zero properties and only add what is needed based on the need which an IDE can't know. VS has to guess at your intentions. Do you want a control relative to some other control, or relative to the screen 0,0? Should a control be nested inside another, or is it top level?

In my personal opinion drag-n-drop is fine for beginners while they are still learning the property names but no company I've worked with in two decades would retain someone that needs it or even uses it regularly.

Tools such as LiveReload are far more useful since you can see your XAML changes in real time on multiple devices. A visual canvas isn't going to show you how it looks on iOS and Android and UWP all at the same time. Its not going to show you both landscape and portrait at the same time. But I can do that with LiveReload by watching the changed update on an Android tablet and an iOS phone every time I hit Save.

PS. We don't make UI in XML here.

Yeah, and VI is the optimal editor, right?

It is so obvious that developers and everyone else want to have the same capabilities designing XAML for Xamarin as they have desisigning XAML everywhere else in the Microsoft world. Blend should of course work as well as the built in XAML designer in VisualStudio.
    Designers want it for their work. It is needed for designing accurate screens for prototyping and for showing customer how things might look when done early on in the process, not only developers are involved in this.