Pass data from ModalPage back to parent

onedevteam.comonedevteam.com USMember ✭✭
edited May 2017 in Xamarin.Forms

I'm using this in my home page to show list of items in a modal child.

await Navigation.PushModalAsync(new ModalChildPage());

On child page, i use ListView to show data, and when user tap item, i would like to return selected item id back to home page.

I'm still new in Xamarin.Forms, and can't figure how to do this.
I do have ItemSelected event and i have selected item in it, but don't know how to pass that data back with Navigation.PopModalAsync or something else.

Can someone help? Thanks

Best Answer

• MagnusWallonMagnusWallon US ✭✭✭
    edited May 2017 Accepted Answer

There are different ways to do this, the way I do it and I know it's not standard but I think it works, is to add a reference to the main page when I call the modal page.

** Ex:**

await Navigation.PushModalAsync(new ModalChildPage(this));

**and on ModalPage:**

public partial class ModalPage
    {
            MainPage mp;

public ModalPage(MainPage m)
            {
                mp=m;
            }
            public popFunc()
            {
                // now you can call any function on the main page just before you pop
                mp.myFunc();
                Navigation.PopModalAsync();
            }
    }

Answers

• MagnusWallonMagnusWallon USMember ✭✭✭
    edited May 2017 Accepted Answer

There are different ways to do this, the way I do it and I know it's not standard but I think it works, is to add a reference to the main page when I call the modal page.

** Ex:**

await Navigation.PushModalAsync(new ModalChildPage(this));

**and on ModalPage:**

public partial class ModalPage
    {
            MainPage mp;

public ModalPage(MainPage m)
            {
                mp=m;
            }
            public popFunc()
            {
                // now you can call any function on the main page just before you pop
                mp.myFunc();