not able to use PCL neither Shared library for SQLconnection code

Hello,
I am new to Xamarin and I am trying to build an app, which would use SQLite server. connection. I've already written all my SQLite code and tested in Console Application in C# (Desktop app). Now I want to migrate it into Xamarin native application.

I have 3 projects - iOS, Android and PCL. The thing is, that the code can be compiled if I add a class into both projects iOS and Android (after adding system.data reference). That's actually not correct approach, because I am duplicating the code.

I would like to use some kind of shared place, which would be used by iOS and Android project - I guess PCL/Shared Library project should be used for this purposes.
Problem is, that I cannot add system.data reference into PCL neither to Shared Project library.

Following abstract class I am using:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;

namespace DBConnection.Model
{
    public abstract class Database
    {
        protected string ConnectionString { get; set; }
        protected abstract DbConnection CreateConnection();
        protected abstract DbCommand CreateCommand(string commandText, DbConnection connection);

public abstract DataTable ExecuteSelect(string query, Dictionary<string, object> parameters = null);
        public abstract int ExecuteCommand(string query, Dictionary<string, object> parameters = null);
    }

public enum DataType
    {
        SqlLiteDatabase,
        SqlDatabase
    }
}

Thanks a lot for explanation,
Tomas

Best Answer

Answers

• mikeacostamikeacosta USUniversity ✭✭✭