Getting XAML Intellisense to work VS 2017

Hi all,

I'm new to xamarin, have got everything to work except for the intellisense, it only works randomly or sometimes when I have already typed most of the code. I have looked through a previous post on this topic:
https://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/64005/intellisense-problem-in-visual-studio/p1

Which mentions something about if version at the topic of the xaml is in blue saying xml (which mine is) that it needs to be changed. The fix suggested about opening in source free editor for the solution I don't have as an available option.

I'm using visual studio 2017 with resharper. Any help will be appreciated.

Best Answer

Answers

• toroidalgamestoroidalgames GBMember ✭✭

bump - still need assistance please

bump - Anyone experienced and fixed this issue?

Thanks

Last time I'm going to bump any info will be appreciated.

• renzskarenzska USMember ✭✭

I'm having the same issue. No intellisense whatsoever. Any help would be appreciated.

• renzskarenzska USMember ✭✭

So I got it working in a weird way, but not sure what the difference is.

I made a copy of my xaml file. Then in VS 2017 I replace the content of the main file with the following:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
    <ContentPage xmlns="http://xamarin.com/schemas/2014/forms"
                 xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2009/xaml"
                 x:Class="Temp">
    </ContentPage>

The first line still showed blue, but then I saved the document, closed it, and re-opened it, and it showed as gray.

I then copied in the xaml from the original copied xaml file (backup) into the file in VS that I replaced with the above text and it auto-formatted the document, had the first line as still gray, and intellisense started working.