"xamarin 'Forms' does not exist in the namespace" in App.xaml.g.cs file

KW28KW28 ILMember

Hi, I'm new to Xamarin.
Just added a Xamarin.Forms (Cross Platform App) project into my solution (VS2017), With Master Detail, and PCL.
Unfortunately, as I try to build the solution I get this annoying error in App.xaml.g.cs file
Nuget is updated, version 2.3.3.193 Xamarin.Forms.
This didn't work on other computers as well, even with VS2015, on both win7 and win10.
Also tried to make a blank app, or with shared project, and still same error.
It doesn't make sense that just adding a project template would not build.
What should I do to fix this?

Here are photos of the errors - http://oi67.tinypic.com/2yw7a7l.jpg , http://oi66.tinypic.com/eb4djc.jpg

Best Answers

Answers

• KW28KW28 ILMember

Ok, that solves the compile errors. But now I get a warning message that doesn't let me run the app.

The $(TargetFrameworkVersion) for Xamarin.Forms.Platform.Android.dll (v7.0) is greater than the $(TargetFrameworkVersion) for your project (v6.0).
    You need to increase the $(TargetFrameworkVersion) for your project. MyIMDB.Xamarin3.Android

Current is at "Use Latest platform (Android 6 (Marshmallow))"
    Minimum is at "Android 4.0.3"
    Target is at "Use compile SDK version"

• KW28KW28 ILMember
    edited April 2017

This solved it! Thank you.
    I followed the instructions here - https://developer.xamarin.com/guides/android/getting_started/installation/windows/manual_installation/
    Very simple and well written, with pictures.

Edit:
    Apparently it did not solve everything though, I'm experiencing an error saying :
    "Warning IDE0006 Error encountered while loading the project. Some project features, such as full solution analysis for the failed project and projects that depend on it, have been disabled."
    After some research I managed to get a more clear error from the .designtime.log in
    'C:\Users[user_name]\AppData\Local\Temp'