NSMutableDictionary & dispatch_async Native Objects C# equivalent or similar

EstebanAlvaEstebanAlva USMember
edited March 2017 in Xamarin.iOS

I'm fairly new to xamarin and mobile dev. I'm currently migrating geofire library by Firebase to xamarin.ios. I came across the following objective-c code and trying to figure out what is actually doing? and its c# equivalent:

@property (nonatomic, strong) NSMutableDictionary *keyEnteredObservers;

GFQueryLocationInfo *info = self.locationInfos[key];

[self.keyEnteredObservers enumerateKeysAndObjectsUsingBlock:^(id observerKey,
                                                                      GFQueryResultBlock block,
                                                                      BOOL *stop) {
            dispatch_async(self.geoFire.callbackQueue, ^{         // the callbackQueue is of type @property (nonatomic, strong) dispatch_queue_t callbackQueue;
                block(key, info.location);
            });
        }];

for the callbackQueue I am currently using type BlockingCollection

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best Answer

• JGoldbergerJGoldberger US Xamurai
    Accepted Answer

@property (nonatomic, strong) NSMutableDictionary *keyEnteredObservers; is just a class member variable with type NSMutableDictionary. C# Equivalent:

NSMutableDictionary keyEnteredObservers; 

GFQueryLocationInfo *info = self.locationInfos[key] is juts assigning the value of self.locationInfos[key] to the info local variable of type GFQueryLocationInfo. C# Equivalent:

GFQueryLocationInfo info = this.locationInfos[key]; // `self` in Obj-C is the same as `this` in C#.

The next is a bit more complex. An Obj-C block is similar to a delegate (or lambda) in that is is a block of code that can be passed as an argument or held in a field or property. I will try to break it down:

BOOL *stop)