Forum Xamarin.Android

Announcement:

The Xamarin Forums have officially moved to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Microsoft Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

To create new threads and ask questions head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET and get involved today.

Google Silent Sign In

Hi

I'm trying to implement Google Sign In in a app that I'm testing out. I can make everything connect to Google and work without any problems however I want the app to attempt to silently log in (cached credentials) and move on if it finds them.

The only examples I can find to do this are in Java and while it's not radically different from C# I'm not really an expert in that either :)

I have taken the example from here:

https://github.com/googlesamples/google-services/blob/master/android/signin/app/src/main/java/com/google/samples/quickstart/signin/SignInActivity.java

However I have hit what I think is a catch 22 that I would like some help with. If I use the code:

OptionalPendingResult<GoogleSignInResult> opr = Auth.GoogleSignInApi.SilentSignIn(plusClient);
        if(opr != null)
        {
            if (opr.IsDone)
            {
                Console.Out.Write("we have cached login");
                try
                {
                    GoogleSignInResult signInResult = opr.Get;
                    GoogleSignInAccount gsa = signInResult.SignInAccount;

Toast.MakeText(this, gsa.DisplayName, ToastLength.Short).Show();

}
                catch (Exception e)
                {
                    Console.Out.Write("error getting cache login: {0}", e.ToString());
                }
            }
            else
            {
                Console.Out.Write("we're gonna have to log in");
            }

Then the first line fails on the OptionalPendingResult section for:

CS0308 The non-generic type 'OptionalPendingResult' cannot be used with type arguments